Bushtemberfest Eve

August 25, 2008

The theme song of this year’s Bushtemberfest observance will be “Blue Tarp Blues,” the angry blast that opens Sonny Landreth’s latest and best record, From the Reach. Bushtemberfest or the Festival of Fatal Fuckups opens, as you will recall, with the anniversary of the drowning of New Orleans in August 2005 and concludes on the anniversary of September 11, 2001. During Bushtemberfest, patriotic Americans are invited to contemplate the Bush administration’s glittering record of non- and anti-achievements and hope nothing even worse gets inflicted on us before this cabal of crooks, creeps and crazies gets evicted from the White House.

So sing along with Sonny:

Air Force One had a heck of a view
Air Force One had a heck of a view
Looking down on the patchwork of the blue tarp blues.

I went a-walkin’ through the water
sprung a leak in my shoes
I went a-walkin’ through the water
sprung a leak in my shoes
that hole in my soul
give me the blue tarp blues.
I got the blues
I got the blue blue tarp blues.

There’s a crack in the ceiling and the system too
There’s a crack in the ceiling and the system too
But we got full coverage of the blue tarp blues.
I got the blues
I got the blue blue tarp blues.
I got the blues
I got the blue blue tarp blues.

No it wasn’t the weather that sank me and you
It was a bad fix of politics, greed and fools
That levee of lies couldn’t hold back the truth
We’re in deep but not out of reach

Throw me somethin’, mister.

I’m gonna fly my colors and watch for you
I’m gonna fly my colors and watch for you
Like a flag of hope, above the blue tarp blues

I got the blues
I got the blue blue tarp blues.
I got the blues
I got the blue blue tarp blues.

One Response to “Bushtemberfest Eve”

  1. Caveat Says:

    Yay, it’s Bushtemberfest! Let’s get hysterical!


Leave a Reply

